Struggles Of A Kpop Idol

Sydney Delgado, Staff Writer

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






People these days are judging K-pop for all the wrong reasons, even sometimes disrespecting their hard work. Whether it’s the music video, idols, or the song itself, people always seem to judge K-pop and take it as a joke.

K-pop is a genre of music that is meant to represent South Korea’s type of music. The three biggest K-pop legends at the moment being BigBang, Bts, and Girls Generation. These groups are the K-pop legends for making their music reach to the US. Originally for South Korea, they wanted to make K-pop well known to make more profit in one of their biggest businesses. But in 2012, PSY, came out with his hit song ‘Gangnam Style’ which reached the US and ruined South Korea’s chance of reaching their goal since the song got so much hate and caused K-pop to look like a joke more than an art. 

Ever since K-pop has made its way over to the US and become worldwide, people haven’t been taking K-pop seriously and even judge it for all the wrong reasons. Some people call K-pop annoying or even judge the male artists for wearing makeup and wearing certain clothes.

Bts’s Suga wearing makeup for stage performance.

For example, K-pop trainees sign a contract to their company with a set of rules, expectations, and requirements each trainee needs to have. All trainees need to have at least average skills of singing, acting, dancing, and having the visuals. By signing the contract, these trainees are put on strict diets, a harsh sleep schedule, extreme dancing and vocal training, and much more.

Gfriend’s SinB fainting on stage from exhaustion.

When these trainees become idols, their company gives them song lyrics to sing, choreographies to memorize, and concepts to follow. Unless if the groups are far more successful, they get to write their own songs, have their own concepts, and create their own dances. But even if these idols receive a certain respect from their companies, that doesn’t stop the crazy training and sometimes idols even faint from poor nutrition and lack of sleep.

K-pop deserves better since they work hard and risk their lives everyday to do what they love. We should all have a little taste of K-pop in our lives.

10 Comments

10 Responses to “Struggles Of A Kpop Idol”

  1. Angela Bologna on September 12th, 2018 1:17 pm

    Sydney you’re right, no one should make fun of kpop, as you said they probably try really hard on their songs but get little appreciation.

  2. Sirena :3 on September 12th, 2018 1:18 pm

    I think your article is really cool and gee… He LOVES KIDZ BOP

  3. giovanni on September 12th, 2018 1:18 pm

    i love kids bop

  4. Ya boi on September 12th, 2018 1:23 pm

    After reading this I truly have more respect for them. After finding out what they go through to get where they are I think I can enjoy their music more now.

  5. ssss on September 12th, 2018 1:49 pm

    Why should I care about K Pop, and why should other people be interested in it?

  6. Dewight durr on September 12th, 2018 6:59 pm

    I know kpop is just korean pop music most americans won’t even know what they are saying if they went to a concert not to mention every musician should put there heart and soul in there music. plus what do you mean risk their lives they are just a best above average korean singers writing songs that sound like a Chorus Isn’t exactly giving birth hard. but hey who am I to tell you what you can and can not like.

  7. ѕ σ м є σ η є on September 13th, 2018 11:51 pm

    Of course, you are the one to say that. Not to mention, they have to dance with really advanced and tough choreography, some of them are not allowed to date, they have strict diets, and they rarely have time to be with their family. They also have to go into the military… Then they receive tons of hate for working their behinds off 24/7 (from people like you, because I have witnessed the hate comments you make)

  8. Isabella soto on September 13th, 2018 11:15 am

    I agree, Although i dont like their songs i dont hate them because they have done nothing to me.I think many people just “Hate it” because most people listen to it,But when you ask all they say is i cant understand them or i just do

  9. Emily on September 13th, 2018 12:21 pm

    I love Apple music 🙂

  10. who on September 20th, 2018 4:15 pm

    i love youtube music

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.




Navigate Right
Navigate Left
  • Struggles Of A Kpop Idol

    Opinion

    Why Are People Burning Their Nikes?

  • Struggles Of A Kpop Idol

    Opinion

    America: The Only Rich Country That Doesn’t Have Universal Healthcare

  • Struggles Of A Kpop Idol

    Opinion

    Are Movies and Music Too Explicit for Teens?

  • Struggles Of A Kpop Idol

    Opinion

    Horror Movies Are Getting Scarier Everytime One Comes Out

  • Struggles Of A Kpop Idol

    Opinion

    Guide For Incoming STEAM 6th Graders

  • Struggles Of A Kpop Idol

    Opinion

    4 Things To Be and Not To Be Worried About in Middle School

  • Struggles Of A Kpop Idol

    Opinion

    The 20 Most Important Events in the U.S. in 2017

  • Struggles Of A Kpop Idol

    Opinion

    Do’s And Don’ts for Incoming 6th Graders

  • Struggles Of A Kpop Idol

    Opinion

    Tips To Help You Survive 8th Grade

  • Struggles Of A Kpop Idol

    Opinion

    See You Soon Dana!

Struggles Of A Kpop Idol