Books To Read During Winter Break


Hera Serna, Staff writer

It’s the coldest time of the year as everyone settles in for Christmas Day to arrive or Winter Break for those still in school. The reefs are hanging on doors and the lights are hanging from windows telling us it’s finally time to get festive. When it comes to the cold days of winter sometimes a seat by the fireplace and a good book in your hands feels like the best thing. So here are five books for you to read during your winter break.

The Book Thief

The majority of the novel takes place in the fictional town of Molching, Germany, near Munich, between 1939 and 1943. Death narrates the story of Liesel Meminger, beginning when she is nine years old and suffering from the death of her brother and separation from her mother. Liesel goes to live with Hans and Rosa Hubermann at 33 Himmel Street in Molching. When Liesel arrives, she can’t read and is made fun of in school. She realizes how powerless she is without words, and so Hans, a painter and accordion player, teaches her how to read during midnight lessons in the basement, reading from the book Liesel took from her brother’s burial, The Grave Digger’s Handbook. This of course starts a domino effect that creates wonders in her mind about the world of literature. She grows to love books so much that she even saves one from a Nazi bonfire. Though Liesel’s new family barely scrape by, their situation becomes even worse when they secretly shelter a Jewish boy whose father once saved Hans’ life. Things couldn’t possibly get worse, right?

Harry Potter

Harry Potter is most likely one of the most well known series and many have probably read this series plenty of times again. The story is about a young boy named Harry Potter and his adventures as he attends Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. He learns how to perform magic and comes face to face with his archenemy, Lord Voldemort. The first book starts us off as Harry Potter learns on his eleventh birthday that he is the orphaned son of two powerful wizards and possesses unique magical powers of his own. He is summoned from his life as an unwanted child to become a student at Hogwarts, an English boarding school for wizards. There, he meets several friends who become his closest allies and help him discover the truth about his parents’ mysterious deaths. As The story progresses the readers find out more about the story being told and in the end we are left speechless for the world that was just created.

The Under Land Chronicles

The Overlander Chronicles tells a story about a young boy named Gregor and his younger sister Boots as they travel throughout a new world together. It all starts when they are in the laundry room of their apartment and Boots falls through a grate. Gregor soon follows to which they find themselves in a world where insects and rodents are as big as humans. They discover that there are also humans in this strange world when they are brought to the city Regalia by cockroaches. Here Gregor meets the royal family, including Luxa, the future queen and Howard, her cousin. While staying in the city, Gregor learns of a prophecy that states two “overlanders” and eight underlanders will journey to rescue a captured overlander. Soon the people of Regalia discover that Gregor is the “Warrior” of which the prophecy speaks. Unwillingly Gregor discovers that he will have to make the journey. Along with Luxa, Henry, some cockroaches, bats, spiders and Ripred the rat, they set off on their journey.

Grisha Trilogy

The series follows the story of an orphaned girl and boy who grew up in an orphanage in Karamzin, a city in Ravka. The orphans are the series main characters, Alina and Malkov. As they grow older they both become soldiers in the First Army. As their regiment begins to cross the Shadow Fold, they are attacked by a swarm of long-clawed, leather-winged, blood-thirsty volcra. Alina’s gift reveals itself while she tries to protect her best friend Mal, and her new powers are not overlooked. Now looked at as an outcast Alina must travel to a totally new world from the one she’s loved. Her friend must leave her and as new people enter her new life, she can’t help but feel like she’s being deceived at every turn. Can she find it in herself to trust the people around her, or is she all alone on this one.

Narnia Chronicles

The Chronicles of Narnia is one of the most famous works of fantasy and has even inspired many other works of fiction. This famous story was said to have resembled the Bible in a way and soon after C.S.Lewis had confirmed that some aspects of the book were inspired by the Bible and the story told. The story starts with the first book The Magician’s Nephew aas they tell the story of how Narnia was created. Evil tries to stop the creation and a young boy plants what is called the Tree of Protection later used for a magical wardrobe in the book. The real story however starts many years later when four children enter Narnia through the magical wardrobe. They meet creatures they had never known existed and work with Aslan to fight the evil White Witch. The adventure never stops though and continues to The Last Battle.

These five series will have you at the edge of you seat as each chapter makes you want to read more. During winter break take a seat and open up one of these books, im sure you’ll love at least one of these series.